The Sturdy
Nine Inch Nails remix album to The Fragile

If the following track listing worries you, or if it impresses you a lot, don't let it. It is totally fake. It's just something that I made up because I think it would be a cool CD.

Here's what makes it fake:
-On remix CD's there are always songs that are remixed more than once (Head Like A Hole, Happiness In Slavery, Mr. Self-Destruct, Eraser, etc.)
-Usually remixers remix more than one song (especially Coil and J.G. Thirwell)
-My CD, for creative purposes, doesn't have any songs remixed by NIN members (Trent Reznor, Charlie Clouser, etc.) or NIN engineers/mixers (Dave "Rave" Ogilvie, Keith Hillebrandt)
-Some of these artists are simply too weird and unlikely for Trent to consider letting them remix his stuff (remember what happened to Butch Vig's remix of "Last"?)
-I imagine some of these remixers would scoff at the idea of remixing NIN (Amon Tobin, Mogwai, Portishead, µ-ziq)
-Much too many tracks and too many remix artists
-I'm a little overwhelmed by "The Day The World Went Away", with all the fan remixes and the official different versions, so I chose not to add any. I bet there's more to come from that song, though
-I didn't include Keith's remix of "The Fragile" which will probably end up on some CD eventually
-"The Sturdy" is an awful title for an album; it's meant as a joke, in the vain of "Further Down The Spiral"

Before you read the track listing and get all confused here are some clarifications:
J.G. Thirwell is the real name of the "band" Foetus; he remixed some stuff on the last two remix albums.
Alec Empire, a solo artist in his own right, is the leader of the digital hardcore band Atari Teenage Riot (who I've seen live)
Philip Glass is an orchestra conductor, arranger and composer. He does not remix, instead he does orchestrations.
I labeled it simply "Coil" but sometimes Peter Christopherson alone involves himself with NIN.
Sometimes group member 3D remixes on behalf of Massive Attack, but not always.
Usually Jack Dangers remixes NIN on behalf of Meat Beat Manifesto but sometimes it's credited to the band itself.
Squarepusher, Aphex Twin, RZA and others are "one man bands".

Without further ado, here is the track listing I made.

Nine Inch Nails: The Sturdy
01. The Wretched (Photek Remix)
02. The Way Out Is Through (Aphex Twin Remix)
03. Somewhat Damaged (Squarepusher Remix)
04. The Big Comedown (Autechre Remix)
05. We're In This Together (Mogwai Remix)
06. The Frail (Amon Tobin Remix)
07. No, You Don't (Alec Empire Remix)
08. Even Deeper (Dust Brothers Remix)
09. Starfuckers, Inc. (Philip Glass Orchestration)
10. I'm Looking Forward To Joining You, Finally (Coil Remix)
11. The Great Below (µ-ziq Remix)
12. La Mer (The RZA Remix)
13. Into The Void (Massive Attack Remix)
14. The Great Below (Meat Beat Manifesto Remix)
15. Please (J.G. Thirwell Remix)
16. Ripe (With Decay) (Portishead Remix)
Other ideas I've had:
Where Is Everybody? (Nellee Hooper Remix)
Even Deeper (Luke Vibert Remix)
Into The Void (Tricky Remix)

what do you think? email me at or talk to me on the message board.

return to Council Of Trent